Avast, a new platform!

I’m a bit early for Talk Like a Pirate Day (not till Sept. 19), but I’m that happy.

My site vanished mysteriously a month or so ago. After hunting all around for how to rescue and re-create it, I’ve decided to rebuild on WordPress.com.

My ISP, XO, has a WordPress install, but where they install version 1.2, WordPress is on version 2.1. Ouch. And I’m not that much of a geek, so I won’t be reinstalling things myself much. I also use Dreamhost, which can do a one-button WordPress install, but it dawned on me that most of the added gizmos and gewgaws that I might want to add to my site live over here at WordPress.com, so why not give it a try.

About my old site: My friend Gordon used Warrick, a utility that scours the Internet Archive and other resources to rescue sites, to rescue most of mine. But I built it originally in NetObjects Fusion, using template customizations that I’ve long ago lost. So I’ll take the rescued texts Gordon sent me and rebuild them here, in WordPress. My old permalinks will break, but that’s life. (Strangely, an old page of mine used to come up as hit 2 or 3 if you searched for “great essays.”)

So on to figure out how to use this tool. And maybe to find an eye patch and a parrot to perch on me shoulder.

About Jerry Michalski

Lateral thinker, itinerant troublemaker, convener, idea mill.
This entry was posted in infrastructure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

