O my love is like a no-doc loan (the subprime song)

No idea what made me start uttering the first lines of Robbie Burns’ old poem while pondering the subprime crisis, but the result is this:

My love is like a no-doc loan
That’s newly sprung in June:
My love is like th’economy
That’s sweetly played in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie ass,
So deep in debt am I:
And I will love thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the banks gang dry.

Till a’ the banks gang dry, my dear,
And Iraq drains all the rest:
And I will love thee still, my dear,
When our Nation’s not the best.

And fare thee weel, my only buck,
And fare thee weel a while!
And I will come again, with luck,
For Bush and Cheney’s trial.

Here are the original words. Not much needed to change, you’ll see. And in case you want to sing it, here’s the original melody.

Remix, anyone?

About Jerry Michalski

Lateral thinker, itinerant troublemaker, convener, idea mill.
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to O my love is like a no-doc loan (the subprime song)

  1. vielmetti says:

    Down by the banks of the hanky panky
    Where the bailouts jump from bank to banky
    With an eep ipe ope oop
    Ee-sock-a-diddy and a phbbllllt
    (Make ‘raspberry’ noise with tongue)
    Plop!

Leave a Reply

